Bookerie

open the pages, read the words, savor the magic

Return of the Reader

reading is my escape

Hello, Bookerie. I am back.

I apologize for not being around in this blog for almost a year but life can put so many obstacles in your way that derail your blogging plans. I can’t promise I will be as active as I was before, prior to the hiatus, but I will try not to leave this blog empty.

The long and short of it, I was diagnosed with Bell’s palsy last month and I spent a lot of my time in bed, resting per the doctor’s order, and so what better way to spend my time than to read books? (E-book, actually. Because I ran out of room to put print books by the bedside.) I have many books to review and to celebrate and to criticize too so here I am. I’ve started reading some new authors, also old ones, and what I discovered is that re-reading books can give you a different perspective on the story and characters.

As much as I loved staying at home to watch TV shows or going out to the cinema to watch movies, I find that reading is still my biggest and most favorite escape. That’s the reason why I want to revisit this blog and make another attempt at reviving it. Don’t worry – as long as I have a love for the written word, Bookerie will never disappear.

2 comments on “Return of the Reader

  1. Didi
    April 17, 2016

    Whoa, you were diagnosed with Bell’s palsy? Feel better soon!
    I have a friend with BP a couple of years ago and it took him months to fully recover.
    Take it easy and rest a lot! :)

    • mavieenlair18
      April 17, 2016

      I’m already almost fully recovered now. I still go to physiotherapy to make that final step in ensuring my facial nerves are working properly but I’ve been on the mend since the beginning of April. Taking it easy (i.e. resting while reading a lot of books) is definitely my own self-prescribed remedy for Bell’s palsy!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 17, 2016 by in announcements.
