Bookerie

open the pages, read the words, savor the magic

The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon

Last December, my magazine had the privilege of doing interviews in New York with several cast members of The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey, as well as its writers Peter Jackson and Philippa Boyens. One of them was Andy Serkis. In his interview, he talked about Imaginarium, Serkis’ performance capture studio and production house.

Imaginarium is a London-based performance capture studio and also a production house, so we service other people’s films, video games and TV projects. We have our own material in all of those arenas. And also we’re investigating the use of performance capture in live theater. For instance, you can put markers on a ballet dancer or contemporary dancer or any kind of performances – rock bands or whatever – and project them real time on to a screen. So we’re trying to look at all potential applications of the technology. And at the same time we have a training facility, so we have actors rehearsing and technicians, too.

And furthermore, Andy Serkis elaborated on one of the projects Imaginarium is doing:

We have a whole slate of different projects, some live action, some performance capture. I don’t want to give too much away but one that we have announced is a series of films based on a new book by a young writer called Samantha Shannon, The Bone Season. It’s just been picked up by Bloomsbury, it’s being published and will come out next year. It’s the first of seven books, of a dystopian future, really amazing piece of writing. It’s kind of a young adult dystopian future… There’s a strong young female character in it.

Yesterday, one of my former colleagues at the bookstore called me and told me that Bloomsbury sent me a book. (This is actually weird because Bloomsbury people know I don’t work there anymore. So I don’t know what happened, but the long and short of it is that my former colleague gave this book sent by Bloomsbury to me.) I had wondered what the book was, but as it turned out, it was this…

the-bone-season-uncorrected the-bone-season-shannon

The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon!

What a joy this is to discover! I can’t believe Andy Serkis, of all people, gave me a scoop on a book. (And the book’s not even published yet, and amazingly, Serkis has already been planning to make it into a movie. Funny how the book and movie industries work sometimes.)

So now I’ve changed all of my reading plans. I was going to read Jo Nesbø and Neil Gaiman, but now I’m putting them aside for a while in favor of Ms. Shannon’s work. (She was born in 1991. She is so young.) I’ll definitely review this and let you know how it goes later. I might even turn a blind eye on the trolls and post the review on my Goodreads page, although I make no promises.

I hope you all have a great weekend reading. I know I will.

Leave a Reply

