Bookerie

open the pages, read the words, savor the magic

J.K. Rowling’s The Casual Vacancy

Never let it be said that my love for J. K. Rowling has died.

Today I woke up with every intention of purchasing her newest novel – her so-called ‘first adult novel’ – The Casual Vacancy and told myself I should not rest before I got that book. This intention wouldn’t have become a reality, of course, if none of the bookstores in Jakarta sold the book yet. (Shipment has been notoriously slow lately in plenty of bookstores.) Thankfully, Kinokuniya Bookstores in Plaza Senayan came through and I got the book there.

Let me emphasize the joy and relief I felt that I did not have to resort into buying the e-book version of this title. Not only am I old school and therefore love print books more, the e-book, I was informed, was priced at US $17.99. My reaction was a solid “WHAT IN THE WORLD?!” There’s a good explanation for that but it still made me yell and curse at the publishing industry. So I got what I wanted and I can live with the high price that Kinokuniya tagged it with because at least it’s print.

I might not be able to read this book immediately or finish it as quickly as I want, though. My hands are full of my work-related stuff at the magazine. I have a bunch of James Bond films to review and write about and my deadline is next week. Tomorrow there’s a local film festival opening that I have to attend and during the weekend I have to watch 5 Bond films.

But who am I kidding? It’s Rowling. I’ll make time for Rowling.

5 comments on “J.K. Rowling’s The Casual Vacancy

  1. dini
    February 25, 2013

    That book you’ve bought, is it an english or an indonesian version? Thankyou :)

    • mavieenlair18
      February 26, 2013

      It’s in English. I’m afraid I’m not used to of reading Rowling in Indonesian.

  2. Ricciuno
    April 27, 2013

    What a magnificent Life u have! Where can I find ur review of this Casual Vacancy? What will I find in such novel? Thanks ;) x

  3. Ricciuno
    April 27, 2013

    Hi again, not sure whether my first comment was successfully submitted or not,, but Iam looking for your review on this novel :D thanks ;)
    X

    • mavieenlair18
      April 29, 2013

      Hello, sorry for the late reply. (Comments are screened so they take a while to show up – sorry about that too.)

      Thank you for showing your interest in my review, but unfortunately I have not written it. Actually I did write it but then I decided not to post it here. Instead I had a friends-only discussion about the novel at Livejournal. I kept meaning to write the result of that discussion but time escaped from me and I haven’t posted it here.

      For what it’s worth, if you’re still looking for a review of The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling, I can tell you that it’s a really good book. It’s nothing like the Harry Potter series at all; it’s so much more adult and it’s a real world story that might punch you in the gut as you read it. This being Rowling’s adult novel, I’d really like to emphasize on the fact that it is a very mature novel that is unsuitable for children to read. (I say this because I’ve heard some underage teenagers reading it because it’s “by the same person who wrote Harry Potter”). Ms. Rowling’s writing is as powerful as it usually is, but the story’s not anyone cup of tea. Anyone not British might not be able to get what the fuss is all about. However, at the same time, I personally see it as a way to find out how people might live in Small Town, England.

      That’s the gist of it. I hope this helps you.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 27, 2012 by in adult, bookstores, e-books, j. k. rowling, the casual vacancy and tagged , , , .
